Welcome to the kitchen 

My parents kept on complaining that I wasn’t responsible enough for someone who had just started university and unfortunately  for them,  I wasn’t moving into halls so I could continue to live at home, completely stress free or so I thought…

The outcome of this – the glorious task of making dinner every Wednesday night,  for the family. This did not go down well with me! I turn to dominos when no one else is in to cook. The best thing I could make, was cheese on toast so it wasn’t exactly fine dining.

A few weeks into the semester,  all my  friends who were living in halls, kept mentioning about the challenges they had with cooking. This is what opened my eyes to making your own meals as  I was hearing from them about the balance of cooking on a budget as money is tight, making meals healthy as there is no adults anymore to make sure your eating fruit and veg  and to have good tasting food rather than eating cardboard.

For the first time, I was intrigued about what could be created in the kitchen. So  I decided to take on the challenge!  At the start, google was my best friend when looking for easy, cheap recipes but gradually as  I got more confident in the kitchen, I found my way into to reading cook books to gather more recipes.

After a couple of months of making the Wednesday night dinner, I will be sharing my favourite recipes every week. They  will be easy to follow as  its for all levels, from the Mary Berry’s of the world to someone like me, looking to build their confidence in the kitchen.

Strawberry heart cake

 

 

the recipes will include  healthy, long- lasting , tasty and cheap dishes which will vary from starters, mains and deserts.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the kitchen ”

  1. I bet your family are really delighted at getting a night off cooking… Well maybe not for the first few weeks.. haha! Your heart shaped cake looks fabulous so if that’s the ‘shape’ of things to come – how lovely! “Cooking with Heart” … Well done on starting your blog and I wish you success.. thanks for following mine. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

